Clifton Hampden Bridge – Clifton Hampden
Clifton Hampden Bridge is the only major bridge that Sir George Gilbert Scott designed. It was based on medieval forms with seven Gothic arches and pointed abutments, and built of local red brick with a toll house at the south end. It was built in 1864 by Henry Hucks Gibbs, the Lord of the Manor, at a cost of £3617. It provides an ideal viewing place for Scott’s picturesque composition with the little cliff-top church providing the focal point to the scene.
Clifton Hampden Parsonage – Clifton Hampden
Sir George Gilbert Scott seems to have done other work in the village, including the lych gate to the church in 1843, and perhaps providing more appropriate ‘old-world’ fronts to the cottages. He also built the parsonage in 1843-6 from grey stone with a red tiled roof in a Gothic style at a cost of £3900. It later became the Manor House.